She Is Never Really Gone

My mom’s passing gave me a better insight of the continuity of life from this world to the eternal.

My mom’s life did not really end – her body only took the spiritual form.

It all still seems so surreal to me.

Every morning when I get up from bed I would go to her room to remind myself that she is no longer with us.

I would find myself asking the question, “Is this real, mommy?” every single day.

No, I am not in denial, for I witnessed with my own bare eyes how her heart stopped beating, felt the coldness of her skin when the blood in her body stopped flowing, and saw her lifeless body inside the casket during her wake.

The reality of the latter, however, did not make it easier for me to believe that she’s gone.

My senses just couldn’t grasp how real her physical absence is.

And I guess I am going to have to live with this feeling for a while.

I suppose, though, that this is all because I do feel that she really is still around.

And that she always will be.

What is sown is perishable, what is raised is imperishable. It is sown in dishonor, it is raised in glory. It is sown in weakness, it is raised in power. It is sown a physical body, it is raised a spiritual body. If there is a physical body, there is also a spiritual body.
~ 1 Corinthians 15:42-44

2 thoughts on “She Is Never Really Gone

Leave a Reply

