A Story About Death And Dying (Part 1)

If anything, the untimely death of one our beloved dogs followed by my mom’s passing a few days later shook me to the core.

They reminded me of the fragility of life, of the transitory nature of all things in this world.

They showed me that death was real.

So real.

“His kidneys are failing…”

I felt my heart grow faint when the vet texted those very words the day after Blaine’s tragic vehicular accident.

I then broke into uncontrollable sobs and in my despair questioned God for such ill fate for our precious four-legged loved one.

My dear boy will soon be no more.

And if only everything could be reversed…

If only my dearest Blaine did not get hit by that van…

If only…

“The fire of God fell from heaven and burned up the sheep and the servants, and consumed them…”
~ Job 1:16

My mom wept as she was trying to console me.

“We should go to the vet immediately. We need to see him… while he is still alive,” she said in between crying.

At the animal clinic we saw our precious furry family member already in labored breathing.

But he recognized us.

And I could tell he was so happy to see us.

I was certain he, in all his innocence, forgot all about his suffering the moment we arrived.

We cuddled him and stroked his shiny white fur one last time, as our tears fell.

“… the Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.”
~ Job 1:21

Our family gave him a decent burial at our frontyard, on a spot where the sun’s rays can directly touch it at daytime.

We lit a candle on his grave and its fire burned throughout the excruciating silence and melancholy of the night.

Because that’s what our Blaine was – a bright light – and God’s love shone through him in his three short years on earth.

A bright light… that’s what he always will be in our hearts.

Blaine
March 20, 2012 – August 8, 2015

Leave a Reply

