Learning To Live With The Pain

All Saints’ Day is fast approaching.

This is going to be the first time my mom will be celebrating this occasion no longer as one of us, but as one among those who have gone before us.

I had a vivid dream about her one night.

I saw her going down the house stairs and when she reached the bottom I came to her and hugged her tight.

But she told me that we should let her go.

“Do the things that you weren’t able to do when I was sick.”

I think I woke up after that.

SECOND PART 1

I don’t know if the pain really ever does go away.

Certainly it gets masked by the distractions and the busyness of daily life – they somehow keep my mind off my grief for a while.

But when the day comes to an end and I am finally alone with my thoughts, it only goes back to the surface, like a videotape in a constant rewind.

Perhaps it is in those moments where I draw strength from the words my mom told me in my dream, find peace in quiet conversations with God, and seek comfort in the solemn recitation of the Rosary.

And then I’ll fall asleep.

I have told you this so that you might have peace in Me. In the world you will have trouble, but take courage, I have conquered the world.
~ John 16:33

2 thoughts on “Learning To Live With The Pain

  1. I agree that grief from loss comes in stages Irene. I don’t think we get over it… I think time somehow makes it easier to handle. I still have moments of over whelming sadness but not every day which makes it more bearable. I’m glad your mom came to your dreams to comfort you ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “I think time somehow makes it easier to handle…” I agree with you, Launna. Somehow the intensity of the pain is not as great as the time she passed away. I think she came because she sees how lonely we are and I guess she wants to help us move on. Thank you so much for coming over, Launna. I wish you well. God bless you always. ♡♡♡

      Like

Leave a Reply

