Faith In God’s Love

sunrise

Lord, I am not worthy to have You enter under my roof; only say the word and my servant will be healed. ~ Matthew 8:8

I am not worthy to have You enter under my roof…

Aren’t these the very words we pray prior to receiving Holy Communion during the Mass?

In these words we recognize our sinful nature.

And yet we are to receive the Body of our Lord, Jesus Christ.

I will come and cure him. ~ Matthew 8:7

Faith entails humility.

In order to strengthen our faith, we should also be humble.

There is a need for us to recognize our own faults, failures, shortcomings.

But then faith is also believing in God’s love for us and His infinite mercy despite our weaknesses and limitations.

Amen, I say to you, in no one in Israel have I found such faith. ~ Matthew 8:10

Humility is the only way for us to be able to accept God’s unconditional love.

It is the only way for us to accept that we are loveable despite our fallen nature.

And isn’t our fallen nature the very reason why we need God’s unfailing love?

You may go; as you have believed, let it be done for you. ~ Matthew 8:13

image credit

